top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJim Mercer

SamTastic Weekly Tip: 1/8/24 - Use your 366th day.

This week’s tip:  Use your 366th day.

 

I hope your New Year is off to a great start!

 

2024 gives us the gift of an extra day.  This year we have 366 days instead of 365.  What will you do with your extra day?


We always say we want more time.  This year, your wish is granted.

 

We’ve included, below, a list of dates/holidays you might want to add to your TimeTrack.  Many TimeTrack users do this every January by entering all the dates in their public notes section.

 

So, what will you do with your extra day?  Are there things you can do now to make all your days better?  Here’s three ideas:

  1. Continue scheduling each day in the GREEN.  It is all about intentionality.  You’ve done a great job the first half of the school year.  Keep it in the GREEN.

  2. Enjoy your SAM Daily Meeting

  3. Slow Down.  Research shows many leaders speak too fast when working with staff, students and parents. To fix this:

  • Instead of responding with a statement, ask three questions first.

  • Pause. Silence is powerful. Count silently to five before responding.

  • Can you tell me more? This simple question invites people to share and gives you time to really understand their issue.

  • Assume a good intent…even when you have to suspend your disbelief.


2024 Dates to add on your TimeTrack

  1. Monday, Jan. 1: New Year's Day

  2. Monday, Jan. 15: Martin Luther King Jr. Day

  3. Wednesday, Feb. 14: Valentine's Day

  4. Monday: Feb. 19: Presidents' Day

  5. Thursday, Feb. 29: Leap day (Videos released, 17th Annual National SAM Conference)

  6. Sunday, March 17: St. Patrick's Day

  7. Sunday, March 31: Easter Sunday

  8. Monday, April 1: SAM Team Rubric Assessments Begin

  9. Monday, April 15: Tax Day

  10. Sunday, May 5: Cinco de Mayo

  11. Sunday, May 12: Mother's Day

  12. Friday, May 17:  SAM Team Rubric Assessments Due

  13. Monday, May 27: Memorial Day

  14. Friday, June 14: Flag Day

  15. Sunday, June 16: Father's Day

  16. Wednesday, June 19: Juneteenth

  17. Thursday: July 4: Independence Day

  18. Monday, Sept. 2: Labor Day, Registration opens, 18th Annual National SAM Conference

  19. Monday, Oct. 14: Columbus Day

  20. Thursday, Oct. 31: Halloween

  21. Tuesday, Nov. 5: Election Day

  22. Monday, Nov. 11: Veterans Day

  23. Thursday, Nov. 28: Thanksgiving Day

  24. Tuesday, Dec. 24: Christmas Eve

  25. Wednesday, Dec. 25: Christmas Day

  26. Tuesday, Dec. 31: New Year's Eve

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SamTastic Weekly Tip: 2/26/24 - Hello from Chicago.

Hello from Chicago. We are training twelve new SAM teams in the Windy City today.  One of my favorite content sections is showing how leaders can train others to use them the way they’d like…the way t

SamTastic Weekly Tip: 2/20/24 - Happy Presidents’ Day.

Happy Presidents’ Day. Question:  What did you read over the weekend?  What do you plan to read, today? “Leaders must be readers.  Reading and learning from peers within, and outside your industry, en

bottom of page